Featured Product: 100% White Wheat Flour

White-Wheat-Flour

 

I love to eat healthy…but within reason. Veggies are wonderful, fruits are delicious, whole grains are great, lean protein is pretty tasty too. But some times, people take “healthy” food a little too far into the “in edible” realm (there is a reason it is sometimes called cardboard).

I have been perfecting my waffle recipe over the past year, trying to find the right mix of “healthy” and “delicious.” Often, whenever I would use oats or whole wheat flour, the final product would be too dense and earthy. Then, I discovered this 100% White Wheat Flour from Trader Joe’s. It provides the perfect backdrop for a healthy, yet flavorful dish. The perfect combination of white flour and whole wheat flour.

But don’t stop at waffles! I also use this for cookies, pancakes, pie crust, pizza dough…Possibilities really are quite endless! I actually find that now I rarely use traditional, white flour. The only thing I used regular flour for in the past 6 months has been for making cupcakes.

Here is a quick nutritional breakdown between the white flour and the white whole wheat flour:

flour-comparison

 

One thought on “Featured Product: 100% White Wheat Flour

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Waffles with Fresh Berries and Cream | The Fearless Flying Kitchen

Leave a Reply

