Slow Cooked BBQ Chicken Pizza on Honey Whole Wheat Crust

Slow cooked BBQ chicken pizza on honey whole wheat crust from the Fearless Flying Kitchen

My husband has had a stressful week month year. The best way that I know how to provide comfort is through food. Pizza is one of my favorite meals, and I of course assume that it is every one’s favorite meals too. Normally, I purchase the pre-made whole wheat dough from Trader Joe’s. It is delicious and is a super easy weeknight meal. But I was in a mood to spoil, so I attempted my own version.

My favorite thing to make with the whole wheat crust is a BBQ chicken pizza. Now, I know half of you are probably grossed out right now. People have very strong opinions about BBQ on pizza. Love it or hate it, that is fine. I happen to love it. Mostly because I love just about anything on pizza.

I initially wanted to re-create a local favorite pizza served at Padres games: The BBQ Chicken Pizza.

For a while I would make this pizza with basic BBQ sauce , “Just Chicken,” red onion, cilantro and mozzarella cheese. Slowly I have been tweaking the recipe to BAM! Kick it up a notch. (did I just say that? Am I stuck in the late 90’s?)

Now, I make this pizza using leftovers from Honey BBQ Chicken Sandwiches and make extra sauce by combining BBQ sauce, Italian dressing, honey, and garlic powder. Then I chop the red onion and cilantro together and dice them pretty small, and then layer the red onion and cilantro in the mozzarella cheese It is pretty great!

honey whole wheat crust

But what really stole the show tonight was the home made crust. I thought back to a time in college, when we had to create a food product to market. My friends made a whole wheat pizza dough with flaxseed, and it was delicious. I called my friend, Rachael, and asked her what they did. She said to just take a basic dough recipe and do half whole wheat flour, half white flour and then add flaxseed.

Sounds easy enough.

But, of course, I can’t even just stick to one recipe.

Instead, I looked up about 10 different crust recipes and took a little bit from each one. I knew I wanted to use honey as a sweetener instead of sugar. I wanted to use 100% white wheat flour (as opposed to half white, half whole wheat). I wanted to add in the ground flax seeds to give an interesting texture and wanted to be able to make it in my kitchen aid.

I was able to accomplish all of that and, what-da-ya-know, it actually turned out! I love when that happens. I even had enough to freeze for a later time!


photo 2 (9)

I think my favorite part of the crust was the cornmeal on the bottom. I listed it as ‘optional’ in the ingredient list, but it really made it feel like a professional operation. So, without further adieu:

Slow Cooked BBQ Chicken Pizza on Honey Whole Wheat Crust

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Honey Whole Wheat Crust
  • 1 Cup BBQ Chicken (+ More BBQ Sauce as needed)
  • 1 Cup Mozzarella cheese (More as needed)
  • Handful Cilantro
  • 1 slice of Red onion
  • 1 Tbsp Parmesan Cheese

Assemble in the following order: BBQ sauce, BBQ Chicken, half of the cilantro and red onion, Mozzarella cheese, the rest of the cilantro and red onion, parmesan cheese. Bake at 425 for 12-16 minutes or until crust is cooked and cheese is melted.

photo 1 (10)

Honey Whole Wheat Crust

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups 100% white wheat flour
  • 2 Tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1 packet (2 tsp) active dry yeast
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp Cornmeal (optional)

Directions:
Dissolve honey, tbsp of flour and yeast in warm water. Stir and let activate over ~10 min. In the meantime, add two cups white wheat flour (or one cup white, one cup whole wheat) to stand mixer bowl. Add salt and flaxseed. Stir well. Create a well in the middle and add liquid once activated and frothy. Mix with dough hook by hand until combined, then attach hook to stand mixer and mix first on low, then ramping up to medium/high. Mix for about 6-8 min, until smooth and pulls away from the dough hook and sides easily. Add more flour or water a tsp at a time as needed. Once mixed, flour a work surface and divide dough in two. Work dough with hands into a ball. Rub a little bit of Olive oil on top of each ball and then cover with a clean, warm kitchen towel. Let rise for 45-60 minutes. Form into pizza with your hands (not a rolling pin. Let gravity do the work). Sprinkle cornmeal on parchment paper and place formed dough on top. Place desired toppings and then bake for 12-16 min at 425.

photo 4 (9)

Slow Cooked BBQ Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup BBQ sauce
  • 1/3 cup Italian dressing
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 frozen chicken breasts

Directions:
Combine together. Cover chicken breasts with sauce and cook on high in the slow cooker for 2 hours and then on low for 4 more.
If you need additional BBQ sauce for the pizza, combine just the first 4 ingredients.

photo 4 (10)Served with Watermelon chunks and Broccoli Slaw

One thought on “Slow Cooked BBQ Chicken Pizza on Honey Whole Wheat Crust

  1. Pingback: Featured Product: 100% White Wheat Flour | The Fearless Flying Kitchen

Leave a Reply

